Finding Comfort in Impermanence

Embracing each moment is sometimes the only way to find comfort when the future is uncertain.

Amanda Pakutz
5 min readJan 25, 2023
Photo by Simon Berger on Unsplash

Right now, many facets of my life are complicated. The hot-cold budding relationship with our "new normal" lives after covid is exhausting enough. Think about it for a moment; despite a ruthless pandemic waging war on our friends, family, and humanity, we survived. But it's a dismal, not triumphant, celebration. Neither you nor I are the same people we were three years ago. The aftermath of covid-related trauma, anxiety, and depression has scarred us, the people we love, in ways we can never erase.

My seventy-year-old parents got covid in November 2020 despite abiding faithfully by every preventative measure suggested by the Centers for Disease Control. They recovered from the illness, but depleted immunity and energy exacerbated certain pre-existing health conditions for my mother. I am thankful she proactively addressed her issues; my parents are healthy. But I watched my mom battle for her life; it was a melancholy reminder that our days together are numbered. I am glad I moved back to embrace the opportunity to spend as much time with them as possible. Then covid affected my mother and me after returning from a May vacation to Jekyll Island. Even vaccinated, it took me nearly four months to recover from a…

--

--

Amanda Pakutz

I am passionate about teaching, dancing, and making a difference in the world. Enjoy my philosophical and entertaining musings!